In addition to the panel members below, Touch Briefings would like to thank

Tamás Dóczi Past Vice President, European Association of Neurosurgical Societies (EANS)

Jean Georges Executive Director, Alzheimer Europe

Bruno Vellas Principal Investigator, European Alzheimer's Disease Consortium (EADC)

DOI:10.17925/ENR.2008.03.01.7

#### Mary G Baker

President, European Federation of Neurological Associations (EFNA)

Mary Baker, MBE, is Patron and Immediate Past President of the European Parkinson's Disease Association (EPDA). She is also President of the European Federation of Neurological Associations (EFNA), Vice President of the European Brain Council (EBC), Consultant to the World Health Organization (WHO) and Chair of the Working Group on Parkinson's Disease formed by the WHO in May 1997. She is Director at Large for the World Stroke Association (WSA), former Patient Editor of the *British Medical Journal (BMJ)* – and now Chair of the *BMJ* Patient Advisory Group – and a member of the Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry Code of Practice.



### Arne Hagen

President, Stroke Alliance for Europe (SAFE)

Arne Hagen has been President of Stroke Alliance for Europe (SAFE) since its establishment in 2004. He is also a Board Member of the European Federation of Neurological Associations (EFNA) and President of the Norwegian Association for Stroke Survivors (LFS). Prior to his stroke in August 1997, he was Colonel in the Royal Norwegian Air Force. After 37 years of service in the air force he was medically discharged. His service in the air force included Aide de Camp for HM King Olav, Commanding Officer Bardufoss Air Force Station, Chief Foreign Liaison Office, Norway and Branch Chief NATO HQ England.



### Wolf-Dieter Heiss

Past President, European Federation of Neurological Societies (EFNS)

Wolf-Dieter Heiss is Past President of the European Federation of Neurological Societies (EFNS), was Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurology at the University of Cologne and Director of the Max Planck Institute for Neurological Research in Cologne (1985–2005). He is a member of the American Neurological Association (ANA) (honorary member), the Stroke Council of the American Heart Association (AHA), the Society of Nuclear Medicine (SNM), the Société Française de Neurologie (honorary member) and the International Stroke Society (ISS), of which he was President from 1992 to 1996, among others.



## Jacques L De Reuck

President, European Federation of Neurological Societies (EFNS)

Jacques L De Reuck is President of the European Federation of Neurological Societies (EFNS), which groups 41 national societies. He is also the European Director of the World Federation of Neurology (WFN). Professor De Reuck has been Professor of Neurology at the Ghent University Hospital (Belgium) since 1981. He was Chairperson of the Department of Neurology until 2004 and Director of the Ghent PET Centre until 1999. He is the author of more than 500 publications in international journals and books and has been the invited speaker at more than 60 congresses.



# Gérard Said

Secretary General, European Neurological Society (ENS)

Gérard Said is Secretary General of the European Neurological Society (ENS), which he co-founded in 1986, and a Consultant Neurologist in the Fédération des Maladies Neurologiques at the Hôpital de la Salpétrière in Paris. Prior to this, he served as Chief of the Neurology Service at Hôpital Bicetre, a position he held from 1988 to 2007. Previously, he served as an Associate Professor of Neurology at the Medical School of the University Paris-Sud. Professor Said graduated from the Medical School of Paris in 1971 and qualified in neurology in 1974.

