In addition to the panel members below, Touch Briefings would like to thank

Mary G Baker, Immediate Past President, European Parkinson's Disease Association

Wolf-Dieter Heiss, Past President, European Federation of Neurological Societies

Bruno Vellas, Principal Investigator, European Alzhiemer's Disease Consortium



#### Jacques L De Reuck

President, European Federation of Neurological Societies

Jacques L De Reuck is President of the European Federation of Neurological Societies and the European Director of the World Federation of Neurology. He has been Professor of Neurology at the Ghent University Hospital (Belgium) since 1981. He was Chairperson of the Department of Neurology until 2004 and Director of the Ghent PET Centre until 1999. Professor De Reuck is the author of more than 500 publications in international journals and books and has been the invited speaker at more than 60 congresses.

#### Tamás Dóczi

Past Vice President, European Association of Neurosurgical Societies

Tamás Dóczi is President of the Hungarian Neurosurgical Society and Past Vice President of the European Association of Neurosurgical Societies (EANS). He has held various posts across Europe since qualifying in 1973 and is a recipient of the Upjohn Prize from the EANS. Dr Dóczi has lectured on neurosurgery in both Hungary and Switzerland and in 2005 was Associate Editor of *Acta Neurochirurugica*. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine, UK, and between 1995 and 1999 held the position of Chairman for the Correlative Sudies Committee of the EANS. ■



### Jean Georges

Executive Director, Alzheimer Europe

Jean Georges is the Executive Director of Alzheimer Europe. He is also on the Board of the European Federation of Neurological Associations and was its Secretary General between 2002 and 2004. In 2006, Dr Georges was elected as Vice-President of the European Patients' Forum and represents the organisation on the working group on relative effectiveness of the Pharmaceutical Forum, set up by the European Commission. In 2005, he was appointed by the Council of Ministers and the European Parliament as one of two patient representatives to the Management Board of the European Medicines Agency.



#### Arne Hagen

President, Stroke Alliance for Europe

Arne Hagen has been President of Stroke Alliance for Europe since its establishment in 2004. He is also a board member of the European Federation of Neurological Associations and President of the Norwegian Association for Stroke Survivors. Prior to his stroke in August 1997, he was a Colonel in the Royal Norwegian Air Force. His service in the air force included Aide de Camp for HM King Olav, Commanding Officer at Bardufoss Air Force Station, Chief Foreign Liaison Office, Norway, and Branch Chief of the NATO headquarters in High Wycombe, UK.



### Gérard Said

Secretary General, European Neurological Society

Gérard Said is Secretary General of the European Neurological Society, which he co-founded in 1986. He has been Professor and Chief of the Service of Neurology at the University Hospital of Bicêtre since 1987. Professor Said is also Director of the Research Group on Neuromuscular Disorders of the World Federation of Neurology, and between 1998 and 2000 he was President of the Peripheral Nerve Society.

## Eighteenth Meeting of the European Neurological Society



### June 7-11, 2008

### Nice, France

# 20th Anniversary of the first ENS Meeting in Nice Neurology: Learning, knowledge, progress and the future

### Key symposia:

- Coma and locked-in syndrome
- Stroke: TIAs, imaging and surgery of stroke
- Autoimmune disorders of the nervous system
- Multiple sclerosis: when to start a treatment and which treatment
- Behavioural disorders in neurology

The congress programme includes interactive case presentations, 23 teaching courses, workshops organised by the ENS subcommittees and selected scientific sessions in the form of oral sessions, poster sessions (quided poster walks) and satellite symposia.

**Abstract Submission Deadline: January 31, 2008 Early Registration Deadline: April 8, 2008** 

For further information please contact:

Administrative Secretariat:

18th ENS 2008, c/o AKM Congress Service

P.O. Box, CH-4005 Basel / Switzerland

Phone +41 61 686 77 11 Fax +41 61 686 77 88 E-mail info@akm.ch

www.ensinfo.com